Trying Out Cfls For The First Time

Discussion in 'First Time Marijuana Growers' started by JohnDro, Jul 28, 2014.

1. I need some tips guys. This is my first time CFL grow ever and my first actual grow in a few years.

I've got a 2ft deep x 4ft wide x 3ft tall grow space. I'm only using about half of that space now though because of limited lighting. I'm using the organic Miracle Grow stuff mixed with some other kind of cheap self fertilized soil from walmart as a medium.

And at the moment I have a 65watt 2700k along with four 23watt 2700k's for lighting. I plan to add at least four more cool white 23watts this week. I'm wondering right off hand how much lighting it'll take to fill this grow space.

The plants are from bag seeds. Which I started up in the window back in May. The stretching got ridiculous and after reading so many threads on here I decided last week it would be most suitable for me to do a CFL closet grow.

I have them on a 16/8 light schedule to compensate for the 15/9 they were getting in the window. I'd like to get them up to 18 hours under the light but I'm kinda growing tired of vegging these things and ready to move on to a better more controlled grow.

I LST'ed the crap out of everything to make it fit in the grow space. They were growing well over a foot tall with little foliage. I'm hoping to get some sprouts going on some of the nodes before I flower. I'm noticing some serious redness on the branches which I'm assuming is from all the stress I've put em through this week.

I haven't given them any kind of nutrients thus far. I was worried they haven't used up everything in the soil. I was hoping to keep the grow as organic as possible. But budget comes first.

I'm thinking I'll veg another week or two and then start flowering and sexing.