Transplanting Woes

Discussion in 'Sick Plants and Problems' started by lumps_deli, Jul 11, 2014.

1. Coco to dwc
    Transplant shock
    Plant recovery
    Results from conversion

2. Not sure exactly what you are wanting out of this post... is it a question of some sorts?

• Like Like x 1
  3. #3 lumps_deli, Jul 11, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 11, 2014
    I recently traded an old PS3 on craigslist for two brand-new 400 Watt metal halide/high-pressure sodium grow lights that came with reflectors, hoods, cool tube, timers, and bulbs and digi balists. Being that I am a beginner I decided to take one of the units to my local hydroponic store and trade it for a One-hundred dollar store credit; I should backtrack in saying that I am a beginner/hobbyist and currently have two plants that were both in Coco; I decided that I would like to try to put one of those plants in a Deepwater culture system and continue to grow the other in Coco.(Plants were 30 days old from seed)
    After I traded my light for a Deepwater culture system, brand-new nutes, rockwool and other items such as hydroton; I came home and set up my DWC system.
    Since I felt a bit inpatient I decided to take one of my plants that were in coco and transplant it into the Deepwater culture system. I began by flushing the Coco out completely, I then dug around the pot (which was a 3 gallon pot)down beneath the Root system and gently pulled up on the rockwool cube, in the process there were a few ripped roots which caused concern. I then dredged the root ball into three separate containers of water, the final one containing super thrive. After the root ball was clean I then inserted a small layer of Hydroton into my net pot and then I gently placed the roots, rockwool cube and the plant of course into the container. I finished putting hydroton all around the cube to complete the transplant. Boom I was done.