First Pc Grow, Cfls, Nirvana Northern Lights

Discussion in 'Micro Grows' started by vindicate7, Apr 16, 2014.

1. Okay, so I had to join and become a member after reading the forum for the better part of two months or so.  A little background, then on to the juicy details on my grow.

I worked for two and a half months in a cannabis factory, all hydroponics, about 6 tables each held 72 plants.  I learned everything I could, and participated in feeding, chemical mixing, foliar spray, electrical wiring, lighting setups, harvesting, curing; the works.  So I know a little bit about what I'm doing, but this will be my first soil grow.

As for my current setup, I recently got permission to set up a small grow, one plant at a time, and decided that I needed a little stealth but not too much, and went with a PC grow.  I'm a computer technician myself, so coming across PC cases was no problem.  I selected two cases, one Mid-Tower ATX case and one massive IBM server case.  Gutted both, using wire snips where necessary, to give all the room I could need.

This is what I had in mind.  Notice the massive 125W CFL in the cramped enclosure.  I hadn't factored in that the temps would be too high...I thought CFLs were little to no heat...well not when they're that big.
    IMG_2062.JPG

So that's why I went with a separate case for flowering, the IBM server case.  I'll get a pic of that soon.

Seeds were Nirvana seedbank Northern Lights feminized.  Cost just under $50 after shipping.  Got here in like a week.  I have sampled NL #5 from my hydro days, so I figured if I liked that, I'll probably like NL.
    IMG_2061.JPG