What happens when you get really high?

Discussion in 'High Ideas' started by MotleySabbath, Apr 6, 2014.

1. Share your stories :). I'm new to smoking so I need some tips and stuff. And is it rare to vomit while smoking weed. I ask alot of questions. Thanks for the answering brothers

Sent from my HTC One using Grasscity Forum mobile app

2. Death

Sent from my iPhone using Grasscity Forum

3. If I get REALLY high my legs start to twitch. xD

4. #4 Storm Crow, Apr 6, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 6, 2014
    Most folks just go to sleep and wake up hungry!

The vomiting you are referring to is called "cannabinoid hyperemesis" (CH). It is fairly rare- in over 45 years of toking, I have never had it happen, nor do I know anyone personally that has had it happen. I read a couple posts a year about it happening, and PubMed has a bunch of studies on CH, so it IS real!  The cure is to cut back on your use of cannabis. The temporary fix for the nausea is to take a HOT bath!

Here is what happens with CH is that you are really overdoing it. The usual way for an animal to ingest cannabinoids is to eat them, and the way to deal with an overdose of an eaten substance is to vomit it up!  (Our "animal body" doesn't get the idea of smoking.)

So why does a hot bath get rid of the nausea? Cannabinoids are anti-inflammatory drugs. Both the phytocannabinoids from plants (THC, CBD) and the endocannabinoids (anandamide and 2-AG) that your body makes reduce inflammation.  So your skin gets red and inflamed from the hot water in the bath. Cannabinoids are rushed to the skin to soothe it and get bound to cannabinoid receptors. This takes them out of circulation, and the overdose goes away.  Here's some of the most recent info-

Cannabinoid Hyperemesis Syndrome   (#4)       (full – 2013) http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC3847982/