Miracle grow potting mix?

Discussion in 'First Time Marijuana Growers' started by silentsmoker420, Mar 12, 2014.

1. It's about time for me to start growing and the only soil I have available is Miracle grow potting mix..will it work ok for a first small indoor grow?

Thanks

2. Its one of the worst choices in soil, but some have luck with it.

3. Greetings,
    I have been buying soil and mixes for about 2 months now trying to get the right ones. I bought 4cubit feet of the kind your talking about. Has NO water retention at all. I just had to go to town to buy 3 different kinds in hopes of making my own to re pot. Here's are two pics, the bags with the miracle  grow and then of my mix. I agree 100% with Doc-J. That brand is the WORST kind to use. Well I tried to add them here see no option. DO NOT waste your time and money on that brand.
    vendi

4. I am using Miracle Grow.  There wasn't much in the budget and the mixes at the hydro shop were too expensive.  I realize flushing will be a problem- I'm glad I only have two in MG.

5. Mine did fine. I transplanted into ffof but started with the miracle gro moisture control they did just fine. It just has pretty high bark content. Which in some cases may stunt growth as the roots have to go around them. Sometimes bark can be acidic as well. But the ph was right at 7 out of the bag. Here's is an old pic of them in the mg. Maybe not the BEST choice, but it does the job. This pic was just before transplanting (I was a little late on doing it) they were about 2 weeks old I believe

Sent from my SCH-I535 using Grasscity Forum mobile app

Attached Files:

6. Maybe mix it with some vermiculite to help retain sone water. I didn't use it but if you're worried about it. Atleast try to not keep them in it past seedling stage

7. Sorry... last comment I swear lol. The two in the back were two weeks old. The others were only 1