thomasjeffersons veranda

Discussion in 'Organic Grow Journals' started by donothinggardening, Feb 10, 2014.

1. #1 donothinggardening, Feb 10, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 10, 2014
    Hey GCO!

A lot of my knowledge of organic gardening comes from this very forum and the awesome folks who frequent the Organic subforum. Thanks goes out to all of whom that I've gotten advice from. Blades from the past and the present. Surely I will learn from new people as this homegrown living soil movement gains momentum. I started this journal on another forum, and for the sake of sharing some learning and what-not, I've decided to set up a new spot over here. Luckily for you guys, you get to skip the whole first month of growth and get right to the exciting part!

Feel free to share stories, pictures, videos, music, ask questions,give advice, criticize, whatever--mi casa es su casa. I'm hoping that I can turn some other newbies onto this style of growing.

This is my very first attempt at growing the herb, or any plant for that matter. I spent a good year and a half reading books and lurking on this forum before I got an account and started asking questions.

Enough with the boring life story... let's get to the good shit.

I sowed 8 seeds on January 1.

Strains: (All from www.mandalaseeds.com)

Ganesh x1
    8 Miles High x1
    Satori x1
    Krystalica x1
    Hashberry x1
    Chill-OM x1
    Safari Mix x2

Lighting/Ventilation/Environment:

400 watt mh/hps with a dimmable, digital ballast by iPower. The cheap-o one on amazon. Started with the metal halide bulb.

4" Ecoplus 170 cfm exhaust fan with a 4" Rhino scrubber.

16" oscillating wall fan stuck up in the corner of the tent.

Secret Jardin DR 120 (4'x4') grow tent

Soil Mix:

Base Mix
    15 gallons Sunshine Mix #4
    5 gallons perlite
    5 gallons worm castings from www.rockymountainwormcompany.com
    4 gallons Coast of Maine Quoddy Blend Lobster Compost
    1 gallon KIS Fungal Compost
    20 cups rock dust