Greenhouse building help

Discussion in 'Greenhouses' started by Dr. Treez84, Dec 6, 2013.

1. I am about to purchase some land in Colorado and plan to run outdoors in a greenhouse next year. I have about 30k to spend on the greenhouse but would like to stay well under that if possible. Being that colorado stays a lot colder I was hoping to get some advice on different heating systems and maybe design preferences. I found one online i was thinking about ordering http://store.rimolgreenhouses.com/SearchResults.asp?Cat=1819 and getting the 34x96 ft greenhouse. I have enough family to be a caregiver to fit enough plants to make it worth it. My only concern is the whole greenhouse being heated evenly. and how many BTUs it will require to heat the whole thing. Any help or advice would be greatly appreciated... I have grown outdoors in California for a few years but obviously the cold has never really been a concern so i'm new to the ideas of a greenhouse. Thank you

2. A wood fired boiler would probably be the best bet. run the hot water piping through the floor, that will give the best heat distribution.

Some boilers can be dual fed, propane and wood. wood for normal use and the propane for when you are away for a day or two.

3. if you wanted to go one step further you could look into aquaponics, basically you grow fish and use the nutrient rich water for irrigation, then have it drain back to the pond/tank. makes for good efficiency and lots of fish to eat/sell too.   

4. Aquaponics is nice. I've done indoors, indoor to outdoor flower. Started with coco fiber and nutes, then went to soil, then full organics and now I'm trying aquaponics with only fish food and oyster shells to help maintain a good pH buffer.

Attached Files: