Cloning Problems. Help

Discussion in 'Sick Plants and Problems' started by silverfalcon81, Sep 10, 2013.

1. So... I am really new to this whole thing and am attempting to learn how to clone my own plants using my bubble cloner, but I am having some problems.

My entire setup is hydro. I use 5-gallon bubble buckets for my larger plants (only 4 at the moment). They are doing WONDERFUL. Huge, bushy, vibrant green, healthy, happy plants.

That said... I am having a hell of a time figuring out this cloning thing. I built a modified bubble/aero cloner (and yes before the lecture I know it's not technically aero...) that can hold up to 35 clones at a time. I use MaxGrow veg nutrient at 1/4 dilution. Cut each clone off my very healthy adult plants, used a sterile scalpel, cut a nice 45 degree angle, ensured at least 1-2 nodes was below the level of my plug (again using modified aero design), let each one sit in CloneX for about 30 seconds, added B1 to the water to reduce shock, and have them in the room, but not below, a standard fluorescent fixture. Water temperature is controlled at a constant 72 degrees, room air is 75 degrees. Fans in the room move air to create a nice gently breeze (which barely hits the clones). I don't have my big air fans going to replace the air yet, as I am still building the actual grow room, which should be done in 2 weeks.

I cloned 3 days ago (last Friday)... so its been almost exactly 80 hours since then. But my clones look terrible. All shriveled up and not healthy looking at all.

My questions are:
    1) Is this normal? What should I expect to see?

2) Am I doing something wrong? (please don't tell me to use peat pellets, soil, etc... I want to figure this thing out. I have grown several clones successfully in soil... this is a learning experience for me).

3) Does anybody know of any day-by-day photo logs of a similar cloner and what to expect? I was going to make one... but I want to get this right first.