Dark period for harvest question

Discussion in 'Harvesting and Processing Marijuana' started by JMJ3480, Jul 13, 2013.

1. hello
    I'm harvesting my Bubblegum plants on Monday. I've heard conflicting opinions on leaving off the lights for 2-4 days before the chop. Anyone tried this? Cant see it hurting anything and actually would reduce electricity.
    Was planning on leaving the lights off Friday morning till Tuesday morning, with my dehumidifier running the whole time. Would be a total of 96 hours of darkness.

Any thoughts? Thanks

2. #2 ♥ TrAin x Wr3cK ♥, Jul 14, 2013
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 14, 2013
    I always heard your supposed to chop your plants in night time mode w no lights visible. Im not a expert on this but I heard that all the sugars n starches or sumthin like that go down to the roots during night time mode and come back up when theres light visible. Its supposed to make the bud less harsh and smoother. Your literally supposed to chop it in complete darkness, right before dawn or when plants are expecting the lights to turn on.......and ive heard n read something even in high times regarding this............and also about what your talking about for doing it for 96 hours of darkness, ive heard like 2 days max tho. I duno if id go that long cuz they could get droopy lookin w no light for a while, i want them when they're there strongest you know.....

You should experiment w a few if you can, im kinda curious about it TBH.

3. I was wondering if i should do this, Im growing outdoors and was thinking before harvest maybe putting a large black bin over my plant, any thoughts?
    The theory being that plants store startch as back up energy source for when it is night time. If you put it in the dark for a long period before harvest it will force the plant to use the extra starch/glucose and produce larger sums of THC. Do you think this will work if i put the plant is 24hour darkness?