Noobwannb's Self Wicking Smartpot ghetto setup

Discussion in 'Growing Organic Marijuana' started by noob_wannaB, Dec 18, 2012.

1. I'm a noob and readily admit it. Started growing in Feb. of this year and have been using Smartpots (not exclusively) since. I have a love/hate relationship with them and decided this past October to try to remedy some of the issues I have with them. I've learned a LOT in my short time growing, mainly because of the good folks here in this forum and would love to give something back. This thread is my feeble attempt.

I'm using my own organic mix, and love the idea and results achieved with SIPs, but I'm a small time grower and need to keep my grows from achieving jungle status ;) I've been growing (gardening and houseplants) for over 30 yrs though so the health of the plants, and LIFE of the soil with a SIP appealed to me...the 5 gal buckets, not so much. I make no claim at 'inventing' this system. I borrowed some ideas from other systems (including sips, hempies, etc) but came up with this particular setup on my own....that's not to say it's NEVER been done before, just that I haven't seen it.

I'll post the set up and photos in the next post. I have posted both in my journal and had hoped to be able to copy them here, but haven't figured that out yet. I encourage questions, even criticism, I would ask for all to be respectful though. Please feel free to post results/issues here at any time. Let's come up with a KILLER system! :wave:

• Like Like x 3
    • Informative Informative x 1
  2. #2 noob_wannaB, Dec 18, 2012
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 2, 2013
    This method is especially effective with organic soil, and was designed with it in mind, but I see no reason that it wouldn't work with bagged soil. It does go against everything we've been taught about the wet/dry cycles, but with organic soil the benefit of keeping it evenly moist is huge.