My first organic soil mix venture-Thoughts?

Discussion in 'Growing Organic Marijuana' started by stealthboxit, Oct 6, 2012.

1. Hi guys! :wave:
    I'm still pretty new to growing but I am already tired of buying bottled nutrients. I want to move to growing in a water only scenario. I suppose I wouldn't be apposed to having to supplement once in awhile; kinda thinking of earth juice and neptunes harvest for organic supplements. I also made my first amended soil mix. I grow small so its not a big batch of soil.

About 4 gallons of used happy frog soil
    I can't remember the exact amounts for the additives but... :smoke:
    ~24 ounces soil mender ewc (hopefully they are high quality)
    ~3 oz steamed bone meal 3-15-0
    ~3 oz high p bat guano 0-5-0
    ~2 oz blood meal 12-0-0
    ~1 oz high n bat guano 10-1-1
    ~1 oz cottonseed meal 6-1-1
    ~2 oz kelp meal 1-0-2
    ~1.75 ounces rock phosphate
    ~2 tsp epsom
    ~2 tsp dolomite
    ~2 tsp soil mender minerals plus
    ~1 cup lava sand
    some broken up botanicare coco added@probably .5:4

wet it down with about a quart of water. ro/tap @ 3:1. It's been sitting for a couple of weeks so far; smells like goooood soil to me.

Let me know what you think! I appreciate any feedback.

2. Hey stealth. Glad you're doing the organic thing my friend! Just make sure to let that soil cycle for a good while. Because (based on the amounts you've got posted, I know they might vary slightly) you've got about 1.6-1.8 cups of amendments added to 4 gallons of soil that had already been amended. So just make sure to give it plenty of time to break down and get happy before you plant in it.