Anyone have any experience with aquaponics?

Discussion in 'Advanced Growing Techniques' started by canabaman, Jun 18, 2012.

1. I originally posted this in another forum and was told this would probably yield better answers and advice.

First off, if this is an old topic/subject I appologize, I'm new to posting on forums and I couldn't find anything on here about aquaponics.

I'm new to smoking MMJ as well... didn't even try it until I got REAL sick...

This is a little insight into my grow setup and how it came to be.

Like alot of you fellow MMJ patients and potsmokers alike, I decided to grow my own medicine instead of paying a lot for a little.

I started out trying DWC in 5 gal buckets with 6" netty pots, I knew nothing, and killed the clones within a weeks (WAY too cold, PH WAY off, etc.)

Than I tried dirt... I figured thats the easiest way... and the plants actually didn't die... YAY ME...

But being the bored person that I am with too much time to search random things on the net, I decided to go "Diferent". I seen some things here and there on gardening (not 420 related) sites about "Aquaponics" so I got curious.

Hydroponics: the cultivation of plants by placing the roots in liquid nutrient solutions rather than in soil

+ Aquaculture: the cultivation of aquatic animals

= Aquaponics: the cultivation of plants by placing the roots in liquid nutrient solutions rather than in soil AND the cultivation of aquatic animals IN THE SAME SYSTEM!!!

I thought that was pretty damn boring at first... ok, so they've combined a hydro setup with a fish tank... big deal.

But I kept reading... This concept is actually getting pretty big in australia...

You never have to change your water, just add what evaporates out, I'm not going to go into depth about why that is, do a search for backyard aquaponics to learn more, they explain it really well with videos.