watts vs lumens?

Discussion in 'First Time Marijuana Growers' started by JegrobooJake, Apr 18, 2012.

1. Okay so I'm about to start my.first grow. I know everyone shoots down growing with cfls. But for now it's my only option. And I'm not.going to.not grow just because you say it's a waste of time to.grow with cfls... But anyways I'm only going to be growing one plant

I'm confused people here have told me to go by 100 Watts (actual not equivalent) or I've been told 3000 lumens minimum. Per plant... Which one is it? I'm going to buy lights tonight. Do I go buy lumens or watts?
    Any help is appreciated I know I'm a noob

2. 3K lumens/sq ft would be on the low end. Lumens is just what is used to describe the light's energy that the plants will actually be receiving. Both watts and lumens matter, they just have different effects with different bulbs. If you grow with CFLs try to get 100-150 actual watts per plant, and have them set up at different angles as close as you can to the plant without burning it. CFLs lose their energy output after like 6" or so, so to be effective they need to be close to the plants. It should say on the box how many lumens per bulb, for the best results I'd go for 5000/sq foot allowing all the plants to get plenty of light.

EDIT: to the poster above, 50 watts isn't enough to get satisfactory results from a single plant.

3. You have More experience than me morange, so i beleive you. but i have done EXTENSIVE research on this particular question and 150 seems high .... but then again when i grow i only grow indoor until like a quarter through veg. so less light than going through the hole cycle

4. Yeah usually recommended is 75-100 per plant, but seeing as the OP was going with only 1 plant, I found from my own experience with CFLs that since the output drops off pretty quickly, I had a lot more success the more light I packed in there.