Any successful glass blowers?

Discussion in 'Smoking Accessories Q&A' started by usuckman, Sep 27, 2011.

1. I am curious about becoming a glass blower. I pretty much know nothing about it. Im not really an artist all together. But glass just seems like it would be fun to work with. And I just like looking at the glowing red glass when people do it. My questions for you.
    -How did you get into it?
    -How much money does it take to start up?
    -Is there places people can go to just start learning? Are there good bong making classes or anything?
    -Do you make much money?(i know its not all about money, but I would still like to know if I could make a decent living if i was good)
    -Overall, what is it that made you want to become a glassblower, and how did you do it?

Im at a point in my life where idk what to do, Glass blowing sounds really really fun, especially because I enjoy physical work, but not backbreaking min wage work. Basically I like to work hard, but only when the task is worth working hard for. Bongs make me happy, so I specifically want to blow glass on glass bongs. With different types of cool diffusers and whatnot.

If anyone in here can help me out a little that would be sick.

2. go read smileygent's thread and pm him, i had the same exact questions a couple weeks ago and he answered all of them for me.

i found out recently that a lot of people from one of my local headshops are amateur glass blowers. i would go ask the owners where they buy their spoons. Most headshops buy them from local blowers as opposed to online.

3. #3 smilyagent, Sep 27, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 27, 2011
    -How did you get into it?
    Just liked tubes and liked art though why not. I have to say when i first started it was nothing like i thought is was and honestly just didn't like it, then after a few weeks i got better and better and then it got really fun, i started to figure it all out and im still figuring it out today.