Plant Problem: Yellowing Tips, Curling Up, Slow Grow

Discussion in 'Sick Plants and Problems' started by Botanist, Feb 27, 2008.

1. I'm a beginner and currently have two plants growing in the exact same conditions. One of them is doing fine (about 14" long 1/2" thick stem), the other was nute-burned about a month ago and has been slow to recover(about 7" long 1/8" thick stem). Over the past week and a half, it's leaves have started yellowing at the tips and curling up and eventually turning brown and crispy. I thought it might finally be time to add nutes again but even adding them every other day for 5 days didn't seem to change anything.

Also:
    The yellowing tips seem to target the lower leaves first and move up progressively.
    I have stopped watering in the past 4 days because the soil seemed too wet.
    Starting today, the new growth seems to have a bit of a reddish hue which I hadn't noticed before.
    I have not tested the pH and do not currently have a way to, but it is the same soil as my other plant which is doing fine.

Pictures:
    http://forum.grasscity.com/photopost/showphoto.php/photo/28739/ppuser/86525
    http://forum.grasscity.com/photopost/showphoto.php/photo/28740/ppuser/86525

Any help/advice would be awesome. Thanks.

2. You really should have done a lot more research before you started your grow. If those plants are older than 1 month, you've got serious issues. You are not supposed to give young plants nutes at all. It looks like you have them planted in just plain old dirt. That's not gonna work. Read this: http://www.1stmarijuanagrowerspage.com/how-to-grow-marijuana-3.html
    Don't be afraid to use the search button, and be sure to read the stickies too.

If you want better advice, you need to give more info. Soil, lights,type of nutes,etc.

3. Yes give type of soil, when and how much nutes and check the pH as well.