Tiny white bugs in soil

Discussion in 'Sick Plants and Problems' started by Weedhaley69, Aug 25, 2012.

1. Hello, well this is my first time trying to grow marijuana and i germinated the seeds and put them in the soil 3 or 4 days ago and they have already started to sprout but i noticed tiny white bugs in my soil... i dont know if i should be worried or not. i tired looking around for answers but nothing helped. i would take a picture but they're way too tiny. they kinda looked like little pieces of lint at first until i noticed that it would land in the soil and start to crawl in the soil can someone please tell me what it could be and what i should do :confused:

2. Sounds like mites or spring tales. Neem oil will work nicely

3. It does... BUT... there's a huge difference between mites and springtails.

If it's mites, not good. If it's springtails, celebrate.

Take something to poke them gently with, and see if they jump. If they do, be cool. You've got springtails, in which case leave them to it and let them do their thing. They're little cleaners and there's no need to kill them. In fact people who keep lizards and spiders etc buy and multiply them to keep their vivarium clean. They eat fungi and dead matter and break it back down into the soil.

Easiest way to tell if it's springtails is to water the plant and get some run through, then put the saucer under your light and you'll be able to see them jumping round on the surface of the water. I've had them myself... I've got them now actually. They do no harm whatsoever.

4. Oh!.. how I wish you were correct, take a moment to peruse these links....lol

Collembola | Mite Treatments Kill Mites MiteTreatments.com or this (lol)

Checklist of the Collembola of the World

just be careful not to breath in the tiny eggs...lol

peace
    "V"