Southern California people.. when do i start growing outdoors?

Discussion in 'Growing Marijuana Outdoors' started by Jaded1983, Mar 2, 2009.

1. also this will be my first outdoor grow.. i have some questions..

1. well first is when do i start growing outdoors and when do i stop?
    2. do they need full sun or partial 50/50?
    3. do i use well draining soil like i do indoors?
    4. how far should i plant each plant away from each other?
    5. should i put a screen over them? or have them totally exposed?

thanks!! im a noob i know.

2. also i was reading that i should only use super soil.. which i guess mean i need to dig a big ditch for the soil ill buy at the store... how deep do i need to dig? and how wide do the roots usually spread?

3. #3 Afghan#1, Mar 2, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 2, 2009

When you plant depends on the strain,tough cold weather indica could be planted sooner than sativa.

All marijuana strains require a minimum 6 hours of direct sunlight (The more the better).I use a compass when planting so I can plant in the most open east-west position that I can.Planting left or right of a big tree can make a world of difference and only a compass can help with that.

If your going to be watering regularly then you can use sandy well draining soil.If not I would use peat and other water absorbing mediums.Since your in Cali. I would try to get as much water absorbtion as possibile,including a tablespoon of water absorbing gel per hole.

I've grown many big plants of different varieties in the same hole without any problem,taking the time to spread them out 12 inches apart would help.Just remember to spread them out north-south so they wont shade each other.

Enjoy.

• Like Like x 1
  4. I can only answer your first question because I live in SoCal to. I would say in the middle of March is when you should plant it. So thats like in 2 weeks. I planted mine 2 weeks ago and I havent had much success.