Mercury Poisoning From Cfls

Discussion in 'Growing Marijuana Indoors' started by skinny ninja, Apr 17, 2014.

1. #1 skinny ninja, Apr 17, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 19, 2014
    tl;dr: Mercury can be leaked from high wattage CFLs (microscopic cracks) and will cause you to get Mercury poisoning. Don't use those large CFLs. A lot of smaller watt CFLs is safer than one 200w bulb.

Anyone ever experience this problem? I'm taking more about personal health of the grower rather than the plants.
    I've been growing under CFLs for about 5 months. Two bulbs, a 125w for veg and a massive 200w CFL for flowering (yes that's actual wattage). My neck has felt a little swollen on the side for the past few months, but I figured it was a muscle. Well for the past month my lymph nodes have swelled up like crazy and there is a very visible bump on my neck. This just happens to be roughly the same time I started flowering my plants with the big 200w CFL. Went to the doctor, got antibiotics, finished them and it's still there. The doctor was confused as to why.
    I started researching and found many articles that stated a connection between mercury poisoning to swollen lymph nodes. CFL lights are known to emit tons of mercury if broken, but I also read a study where 8 out of 10 CFL bulbs leak mercury through tiny cracks. I grow in my bedroom closet, so i'm constantly being exposed to the environment. Anyone else have more info on this?

I'm tempted to just shut everything down to see if the swelling stops, but i'd hate to waste this run for nothing if i'm wrong. I'm literally half way through flowering.

2. After some more research, ive found that the Mercury turns to a vapor when CFLs are turned on. Also, CFLs below 23w have a negligible amount of Mercury, but nobody studies these huge 100w+ CFLs used for growing. My guess is they are filled with a ridiculously high amount of Mercury, which is dangerous for the grower.