minimium distance for floro?

Discussion in 'Growing Marijuana Indoors' started by gr0wer, May 7, 2003.

1. I have a curley floro light 1100 lumens and have it 1" from the top of the plant. the heat is minimal and no more that waht the sun gives off. Its growing good in my eves but im a newbie. Is this too close because i was thinking if i have it closer the plant will get more light and the leaves will stay more dry. Sids how too says keeping the plant dry will increase the stem strength but he says this about the fans. Since swiching to the closer curley floro vs the bulb one the stem has became stiff but dont know if this is just because of me flexing the stem every few days or the lamp distance.

Check out my plant pic its a about 2 1/2 weeks old but up until 5 days ago it was set up with the round floro bulbs and crap soil that would not hold water. Now with the new soil bigger pot and light its been growing way better :) and faster ive been getting a new node every 2 days or so.

And yes i am using paper as a light reflector and it sux im changing the grow box to a plywood one with many coats of white paint. Its already made im going to sneek it up to my room tonight once my dad goes to sleep. Ill have pics of it in the new box tomorrow.

Attached Files:

2. With flouros you want them as close to the plant as you can,
    Its time to move the flouro up when the plant is touching it.

Whats the wattage?
    Can you put more light on it?

3. Its rated at 1100 lumens and 19 watts im going to buy one or two more after I move it into the new box. The new box is 10.5deep"x15wide"x12 tall". Would 3000 lumens per sq ft would be good for floro to get them started? It will be a starter box for future clones when i get some good seeds. Can you tell what kind of weed it is i have? I got it from a friend that took it out of a bag.

and as of now it actualy has aalot of ligth but my camera automaitcly tinted because i had it set for outside :p