400 watt mh slow grow.

Discussion in 'Growing Marijuana Indoors' started by CheesyPeace, Oct 14, 2007.

1. I was just wondering if a 400 watt mh is actually enough light to grow vegetatively because my seedling are 18" away from the light and growth is VERY SLOW.They are 8-9 days old very small and green so hopefully things will pick up a little...

I am going to flower with the mh also maybe add an hps to help but if i dont if I just use the MH for flower Will it provide sufficient lighting for good bud production?

Any comments please.

2. From what i have read "im no expert!" MH's will be just fine for vegging. but your going to want something with a bit more umph to flower those babies. if you arent happy with the mh try some CFL's cheap to run and quite low on heat. give that a shot if you arent happy with the results of the MH's. With 400w MH you should be just fine for vegging. Apparently HPS are going to provide a more dense and abundant bud. That could be speculation but it seems the general consensus is HPS's for efficiency when flowering.

3. show some pics. i have a week old seedling under about 300watts of cfls and its 3rd node of leaves (including cotledon) are showing 400w mh should b fine

4. how many plants? what size grow room? Using any mylar or reflective material? What type of grow, Soil? Hydro? And what set-up? Sorry for all the questions, just like to know what other people are doing and how they're growing the sweet cannabis.

I am not an expert by any stretch of the imagination, but you should be fine with the 400 watt MH for your veg, keep light as close to plants as possible (you should be fine with your current distance). Make sure your grow area isnt overheating, and think about ventilating your hood, just for good measure.