Peroxide and hydro

Discussion in 'Hydroponic Growing' started by Tommatt, Jul 22, 2010.

1. So, I've been reading about peroxide and hydro. On one hand hydro shops sell .35% peroxide for growing. On the other, it eats nutes the plants crave. It has electrolytes, its what plants crave.

Like I said, I've done reading, some people swear by it, some ppl say its bad. I'm thinking like a teaspoon a week, for oxygen and to kill anything that might be growing.

So whats the concensus on peroxide and growing? I'm talking about .03% for cuts and stuff.

2. #2 sunndropper, Jul 22, 2010
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 22, 2010
    I don't have an answer for your question. I am studying Hydrogen Peroxide use though too. Stealth Hydro recommends 1 teaspoon per six gallons of water/nutrient solution. Dr.Trichome told me that, once you add hydrogen peroxide, you have to keep adding it for the rest of the grow. I don't know if this is true when you can wash out the whole reservoir. I have the exact same setup that you do; a bubbleponic system with 315 CFL light bank. I just recently had algae and light-proofed my reservoir. Due to the algae, I added the recommended amount of hydrogen peroxide, ran it for 24 hours and then drained and refilled the tank. Then I put in House & Garden's, Root Excelurator. Now the roots are at the very beginnings of turning a light-red color. So I'm wondering if I ruined my system with the Hydrogen Peroxide. But there's a possibility that the red color is stain from the Roots Excelurator. If I could go back, I would have just washed the algae out without Hydrogen Peroxide. Or maybe not. Keep in touch. See my light-proofed pics under the, "Root Excelurator in a DWC with airstone" thread, the Marijuana Growing, Hydroponics section.