why are my buds so small?

Discussion in 'Harvesting and Processing Marijuana' started by johnyossarian, Oct 10, 2011.

1. I am nearing the end, finally!! today i saw my first amber, maybe two trichs out of 20. But i have seen pictures with these massive buds and mine just look much skinnier and disappointing compare to some of the pictures i have seen. I am not really too disappointed since this is my first time and, live and learn. But i just want to know what i could have done differently. I never trimmed them at all, could that have been the problem? I think nutes were good. the weather has been a little unpredictable and it spent a few too many hours in the cold i think. but nothing to sever. The last couple of days have been unseasonably hot (up to 28 Celsius) which is amazingly hot for October where i live and that has helped quite a bit i believe. Also on some of the colder nights i brought her inside which screwed up the lighting schedule a bit, but i know that was preferable to staying outside in the cold (as my basil, thyme and cilantro will tell you). Anyway tell me what you think

Attached Files:

2. looks kinda like my soil grown herb, just taller...

3. man same here my plants both have skinny ass buds and there still getting tons of amber trichs and i was wondering if i just keep it alive longer to achieve bigger buds? or should i chop anyway?
    thx GC im baked as fuck
    btw its gettin cold at night..already survived 1st frost..

4. Maybe they aren't receiving enough sun light? Maybe you started them too late?

5. My winter grow looked like that; its probably a combination of the cold (locks out nutrients and slows enzymes) and not optimal amounts of sun. Plant a bit earlier next season and see if your buds don't fill out better.

6. I was thinking maybe they are shaded for too much of the day and not getting enough light to produce fat buds.