What is/was your college GPA?

Discussion in 'General' started by TheRoeBiz, Nov 24, 2007.

1. Although GPA is definitely not a factual indicator of someones intelligence (in my opinion), I am curious as to where the rest of GC stands in the college grading world. Do you think your GPA is a good indicator of your intelligence? Why or why not? What college do you attend?

My GPA is about a 3.44 combined from a community college and UC. Sometimes I feel like this number is a poor indicator of intelligence, I don't feel I deserve a GPA even this high. I try to find the easy way out of everything... As I'm sure most dudes at GC do.

2. We don't have GPA here in the UK, but I do have an IQ of 132 :hello: ....not that IQ is much of an indication of intelligence either.

3. GPA is not usually a good indicator of intelligence but rather a (poor) gauge of work effort. I am a student at Cal (UC Berkeley) which is generally acknowledged as a world-class academic institution and I can tell you that there are alot of kids who go here who are honestly not that bright, but work so goddamn hard and devote so much of their life to studying that they can major in subjects like O-Chem or Bio-Engineering and maintain relatively good GPA's. On the other hand, I have friends who are painfully brilliant who have lack-luster GPA's, like myself (holding down a 3.0), because of the time we spend patrying, devoting time to extracurriculars like sports (which just devours time like no bodies business), and other life pursuits. I should also mention that I have failed 2 classes twice! That will reallllllllllllly hurt your GPA. I totally dropped the ball in each of the classes the first time through, missing the mid-terms (WTF was i doing?!?!?!?!) and then becoming so overloaded with work thru procrastination that come the end of the semester I didn't have the time study enough to get a redeeming grade on the final.