Questions regarding pH management with hard water

Discussion in 'Coco Coir' started by TBM, Jun 12, 2011.

1. #1 TBM, Jun 12, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 12, 2011
    Ok, to start off I am a rookie coco grower with one run in so far. It seems to me that pH is the key to a successful grow and my pH issues just never seem to stabilize ever. It starts great, then no matter what, it just goes to shit.

The first plant I ran looked great until week 4 or 5 of flowering, then it started yellowing as if it had N deficiency. I tested the runoff and noticed it was salt building up so I flushed with half strength until my ppms were in the range I wanted. To fix this issue I run a feed, feed, water schedule. This keeps the excess salts from building up.

I believe my nute issue is solved, but now this grow I seem to have a pH problem. About 5 days ago my plants in week 5 of flower started yellowing/ tip burning and those leaves eventually turn darker brown and shrivel off. I've been watering with approx. 1250uS/cm (~800ppm) at 5.8pH the whole flower cycle so far with a regular flush on the weekend, and now all of a sudden when I tested my runoff to find the problem, I read 6.5 on a majority of the older plants. WTF!

Old flower nute solution:
    1.5 tsp. PBP Bloom soil
    1 tsp. Liquid Karma
    1 tsp. Unsulphured Molasses
    1 gallon 7.8pH tap water
    pH down to 5.8

This solution gave me 850-900ppm