Darwin's Mazar-I-Sharif Breeding Project

Discussion in 'Cannabis Breeding' started by DarwinsBulldog, Jul 16, 2010.

1. Hey all! Started my first breeding project recently and decided to use a landrace strain from Real Seed Company called Mazar-I-Sharif. i'll put the info on it below. I got a lot of them as freebies with orders I made, they were ex stock and so the germ rate was meant to be low, but so far I've had 60% germ which was better than I expected. I thought it'd be a good idea to plan out what I want to achieve from this breeding project, make a list of aims etc so I have an idea in my head of what to follow with each step. Any advice or criticism is more than welcome as I am still new to this stuff so definitely don't be afraid to correct any mistakes I'm making or have made. Anyway hope you enjoy the show!

Darwin

Aims:
    * Grow #1
    * Grow out a sufficient number of girls and boys to get a good representation of the natural population's genes in the first set of progeny.
    * Open Pollinate all plants grown (might collect pollen from males as they will most likely mature before females do - if collected, store in freezer, drop in front of fans in front of all the girls at week 2 and week 5)
    * Examine all plants closely taking note of different phenotypes to select for in the future (no selection will be done in this first grow at all it's just for sufficient seed production to start grows for selection). Take vigorous notes, pictures, etc of phenotypes/traits, will help for future selection.
    * Because of numbers i want to use and size of my grow space currently i'm going to SOG (Sea Of Green) style grow them in single colas, or if there's enough room i'll just prune when light isn't penetrating well. size and yield of plants at this point isn't important, i just need as many plants grown as possible to reproduce an produce seed with as big a gene pool as possible.

* Grow #2
    * Now it's time to focus on selection.