Help beginner with indoor hydroponics!

Discussion in 'First Time Marijuana Growers' started by DunDun, Nov 6, 2009.

1. I have decided that it is time for me to grow my own stuff. I have no experience in any type of gardening, but i have a love for the plant and I want to take it to the next level. I have many questions that I want to get cleared up before I start anything or waste any money. I bought a book about growing (The Indoor High Yield Guide, by Ed Rosenthal) but it didn't help me with all my questions. I am going to give my entire plan in detail in hope of getting some advise and constructive criticism.
    Seeds
    First things first, I need to get some seeds. Planning on ordering some online. I am looking to get 2 different strains to grow at the same time. I want some relatively cheap ones that are feminized, will have a good yield, will grow indoors, and are easy to manage since I am a beginner. I would like to know a reputable web site to go to for some high quality seeds that meet those needs.
    Hydroponics
    I have decided to go with an indoor hydroponics setup. I am building it out of a storage tub but I am debating on weather to go with the aeroponics style with the air stone in the water reservoir, or with a PVC configuration to spray the net pots. I need to know which would be better for a beginner, or just better in general. This is the type that I want to build...
    Greenman's Growers Forum - Aeroponic Unit V1.2 - Updated Version!
    Grow Setup
    I have a small room that I have in mind. It is a small storage room that also houses my hot water heater. There is enough extra room for 2 of the storage bin hydroponics units (with 4-6 plants in each.) One thing I need to know is, is it okay for plants to grow in the same room as a hot water heater?