Single Plant, Small Budget Grow Questions

Discussion in 'First Time Marijuana Growers' started by BobbyHill420, Jul 2, 2009.

1. Hey all! Love the community I am new to it and have been reading a lot and learning much.

What I want to do is grow a single plant. (If I'm understand correctly) Feminized seeds will ensure me a female, but not prevent it from going herm on me.

So my questions are:
    (and I am very new so I apologize)

What wattage light should I use for a single plant?

I know I need two separate spectrums? One for vegetative and one for flowering?

I will need a timer so I can do either 24/0 or 16/8 for veg, then 12/12 for flowering.

Soil and nutrients of course. I will be sure to study those threads in detail.

Will a 5 gallon bucket be large enough for my one plant? I want to keep it small, but of course try for a decent yield. I will try and follow the low stress method of re-routing the plant.

Some kind of fan to keep the air moving.

And some air fresheners and odor neutralizers.

Sorry I know it's scattered.

Phew I feel like my brain is jam packed with new info here, I'm trying to keep up. Thanks for all the great info so far.

Please help me grow my first single plant! I will update with pics and progress!

:D:D:D

2. I'm very much of a noob too, but i've done some reading and am gonna start soon.

1. At least 100 Watts. but you can always do more if you can.

2. Mhm. Try to get Day Light CFLs for veg stage, and soft white for flowering stage. But if you can only get one spectrum, you can still be fine.

3. 5 gal is ok. You don't need as much light to get started but can add them. Try cfls at different angles so light is pentetrating as it gets bushier. You could do an autoflower and leave lights on 24 hrs. You need a temp and humidity guage. Temp should be not above 85 and humidity 60% max. Some environments just won't work without AC and a dehumidifier. You won't need to worry about odor till much later.